## 17.—Legislatures of Nova Scotia, 1945-64, as at Apr. 30, 1964

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 76; for 1924–33 in the 1938 edition, p. 111; and for 1939–44 in the 1963–64 edition, p. 83.

Date of		Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election			of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Oct. June May Oct. June Oct.	23, 1945 9, 1949 26, 1953 30, 1956 7, 1960 8, 1963	20th	4 4 3 3 3 3	Mar. 14, 1946 Mar. 21, 1950 Feb. 24, 1954 Feb. 27, 1957 Feb. 8, 1961 Feb. 6, 1964	Apr. 27, 1949 Apr. 14, 1953 Sept. 20, 1956 Apr. 26, 1960 Aug. 29, 1963

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at Apr. 30, 1964.

## 18.—Seventeenth Ministry of Nova Scotia, as at Apr. 30, 1964

(Party standing at latest General Election, Oct. 8, 1963: 39 Progressive Conservative and 4 Liberal.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment	
Premier and Minister of Education	Hon. R. L. Stanfield	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956	
Minister of Finance and Economics and Chairman of the Nova Scotia Power Commission	Hon. G. I. SMITH	Nov. 20, 1956	May 2, 1962 Nov. 20, 1956	
Attorney General and Minister of Public Health	Hon. R. A. Donahoe	Nov. 20, 1956	1	
Minister of Public Works and Minister of Highways	Hon. S. T. PYKE	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956 May 2, 1962	
Minister of Agriculture and Marketing and Minister of Lands and Forests	Hon. E. D. Haliburton	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956 July 27, 1959	
Minister of Trade and Industry and Minister of Fisheries	Hon. E. A. Manson	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956 Apr. 7, 1964	
Minister of Municipal Affairs and Minister of Labour	Hon. N. L. FERGUSSON	Nov. 20, 1956	July 27, 1959 May 2, 1962	
Provincial Secretary, Minister of Public Welfare, Minister in charge of Emergency Measures Organization and Minister under the Water Act	Hon. W. S. Kennedy Jones	Apr. 21, 1960	Oct. 20, 1960 Oct. 20, 1960 May 2, 1962	
Minister of Mines and Minister in charge of the Liquor Control Act	Hon, Donald M. Smith	Oct. 13, 1960	(Dec. 12, 1961 Oct. 13, 1960	
Minister without Portfolio	Hon. George A. Burridge	Oct. 13, 1960	Oct. 13, 1960	

## Subsection 4.—New Brunswick

The Government of New Brunswick has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. The Hon. J. Leonard O'Brien, Lieutenant-Governor at Apr. 30, 1964, was commissioned to office June 6, 1958. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation (1867) are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 108.

The Legislature elected Apr. 22, 1963 is the 45th in New Brunswick's history and the 18th since Confederation. It has 52 members who are elected for a statutory term of five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 108.